room 3 domestic rental exchange

Female or male wanted for legitimate work exchange for rent and utilities.

I do this exchange because I am a workaholic and need lots of help with many things including healthy meal preparation for one  (I am on a gluten free diet but will eat most foods) also there is the possibility, if you are interested, to help with office work, writing &/or editing for a magazine, programing, ad sales, eBay sales, home repair projects etc.

I have been doing this for many years and it works great as a true win-win situation for responsible, honest, punctual people who need flexibility in their lives for auditions, students, working from home, starting their own business, figuring what they want to do when they grow up, no matter their age, or any other reason. It is not suitable for someone with a full time job.

There is full home use for tenant only, i.e. no guests are allowed at anytime. The deal here is that there are not guest privileges to keep it safer and more private for everyone.


A $500 deposit deposit as well as references, are required.

We have a four step process:

  1. Phone interview.
  2. If the phone interview goes well then we do an in person interview and tour and application get filled out.
  3. If the in person interview goes well we connect the next day with final questions and then we work together for a day to see if we can work together well.
  4. If that goes well, the person may move in provided they pass the background check and have the deposit.
    As in any rental, I cannot hold a room without a deposit as well as cash or hours for the time the room is held. Therefore, if you are not looking for a rental soon, please contact us closer to the time you will need a place to see if something is still available.

If you love the idea of living in nature but only 3 minutes to Hollywood...

Then you can exchange your rent and utilities for 25 flexible hours of work per week.

You can earn a salary for hours you work above your exchange hours.

Great location in Laurel Canyon, 3 minutes to Sunset, 5 minutes to Ventura Blvd but a feeling that you are in the middle of the country. All you see from the windows are trees.

The home was built in 1912 as a hunting lodge for the vice president of Southern Pacific Railroad.

The home is decorated with antiques and has hardwood floors and a wood burning fireplace.

                              The first floor has the living room, dining room, kitchen and breakfast room.



Living room and dinning room





Kitchen looking to breakfast room



Stove area of kitchen


  B reakfast room 

Breakfast room


  There are 5 acres of land & lots of gardens & hiking trails


  There is one room available for this exchange: 


The room can be furnished, partially furnished or unfurnished.   

The exchange covers the cost of:
  • water
  • electricity
  • gas
  • high speed internet
  • firewood
  • laundry
  • The home is less than 5 minutes from the dog park & there are lots of hiking trails, if you want to hike on our trails you can go up the mountain and down in about 15-30 minutes depending on how far & fast you want to go.
    Plenty of parking on private property. 

Here is a list of the domestic duties:          

  • The cooking is for me and includes feeding me as many times a week as possible I prefer 3 meals & 2 snacks or 6 small meals and the majority of the food to be healthy i.e. raw fruits veggies and veggie juices, etc.. The meals may be pre-prepared as necessary. I am on a gluten free diet. (You may prepare your own food at the same time therefore in essence getting paid for doing something you would be doing anyway)
  • Making myh bed daily
  • General cleaning
  • Home & closet organization
  • Vacuuming our room as necessary
  • Taking out the trash daily
  • Dusting the house as necessary
  • Doing laundry weekly
  • Shopping as necessary (you may purchase your own food at the same time therefore in  essence getting paid for doing something you would be doing anyway) 

Here is a list of the office duties which will be for my online magazines if you have the interest, skills and experience in addition to the domestic duties listed above:                                                

  •   Being able to Multi-Task
  •   Prioritizing projects and completing them in a timely manner.
  •   Lots & Lots of organization.
  •   Lots of writing for my lifestyle magazines if you have the skills.
  •   Editing if you are able.
  •  Scheduling events and making sure articles are submitted correctly and on time from many journalists in 20 cities around the world.
  •  Ability to handle projects independently.
  •  Helping to coordinate and train journalists and interns both here and abroad.                                                                               
  •  Organizing the work flow for the journalists who work for us from story conception to editing, posting and notifications of postings to PR contacts.
  •  Doing outreach for products to review.
  •  Organizing journalists and yourself if you want; to attend events like theaters, ballets, film screenings, spas, parties etc. Making sure that these people attend and turn in and post their articles.
  • General administration and office work.
  • Light phones.
  • Public relations, marketing and sales if you have the experience.
  • Posting calendar events.
  • Article posting and writing if you are interested as well as attending almost any events, restaurants, spas, in LA that you are willing to review, as well as beauty products, hotels etc.                                   
  • Harvesting worldwide media and PR contacts - establishing and maintaining relationships with these contacts.
  • Internet research.
  • Internet sales
  • Selling things on eBay
  • Sales of online display ads                          

  Misc duties if you have the skills and experience  in addition to the domestic duties listed above :                      

  • We have items to sell on eBay
  • I have lots of things that need to be repaired including electrical, plumbing, skylights, plaster, paint, etc.
  • I would like to restore our home
  • We need to set up an online sales team
  • We are working on online video shows and need spokespersons, editors, tech people
  • We need computer programmers who know php and mySql  
  • We have an organic garden and lots of land for flower and bulb plantings (If you want to garden, that time would not count towards your hours)


If you are interested, respond by email with why you think this would be a win-win situation including how your skills fit with my needs and  include your resume and your photo.


Top of Page
Join Splash Magazines

Feature Article

Tempflow™ and Tempur-Pedic® Reviews - What 35 Hours of Research Uncovered

Want Your Business to Male a Splash
<!-- #wrapper -->