2006 CFDA Awards

June 6, 2006

Regarded as the 'Oscars of the Fashion Industry', the Council of Fashion & Designers of America (CFDA) Award is the highest form of recognition a designer can receive. Last night, the 2006 CFDA Awards paid tribute to this year's winners and honorees with a cocktail reception held in the Celeste Bartos Forum of the New York Public Library. Top honors went to Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein for Womenswear Designer of the Year, Thom Browne for Menswear Designer of the Year, and Tom Binns for Accessory Designer of the Year.

CFDA Womenswear Designer of the Year Francisco Costa with Natalia Vodianova

Doo-Ri Chung won Swarovski's Perry Ellis Award for Womenswear. The design quartet Trovata' Jeff Halmos, Josia Lamberto-Egan, Sam Shipley, and John Whitledge were awarded the Swarovski Perry Ellis Award for Menswear. Devi Kroell received Swarovski's Perry Ellis Accessory Designer of the Year Award. 'Seeing Doo-Ri Chung, Trovata, and Devi Kroell win the Swarovski's Perry Ellis Award was such an exciting moment,' said Nadja Swarovski. 'We are delighted to continue our role as patron of emerging talent and feel privileged to be associated closely with this very important step in their young careers. The exceptional talents honored at this year's CFDA Fashion Awards are a testament to the artistry and vitality of the American fashion industry.'

Chloe Sevigny wearing Proenza Schouler, pictured with Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough

In the honoree categories, Stan Herman CFDA President received the Lifetime Achievement Award; Rochas Creative Director Olivier Theyskens was bestowed the International Award; fashion photographer Bruce Weber was honored with the Eugenia Sheppard Award; former Neiman Marcus Senior Vice President and Fashion Director Joan Kaner received the Eleanor Lambert Award, and fashion designer Stephen Burrows was honored by the Board of Directors with a special tribute.

Karl Lagerfeld and Lindsay Lohan (wearing Lagerfeld Gallery)

The presentation was hosted by Entourage's very own funny man, Jeremy Piven, entertaining the sold-out crowd with the banter that has made him so popular as Hollywood agent Ari Gold. The glamorous evening was highlighted by a cavalcade of celebrities, many of whom were on hand to present awards to their friends. The evening's presenters included Harry Connick Jr., Scarlett Johansson, Alicia Keys, Jessica Lange, Karl Lagerfeld, John Legend, Lindsay Lohan, Bernadette Peters, and Anna Wintour. Amanda Bynes, P. Diddy, Terrence Howard, Janet Jackson, Heidi Klum, Sandra Oh, Rihanna, Chloe Sevigny, Jessica Simpson, and Kerry Washington also ascended the tented staircase, lending support to their favorite designers. The event's spring theme was expressed with a garden palette and flower motifs. For the first time, this year's gala incorporated 'Upstairs at the Library Hosted by Swarovski' a lounge-like space from which a larger group of fashion designers, editors, and other industry supporters watched a live simulcast of the awards and listened to music by DJ Cassidy.

Michael Kors and Jessica Simpson (wearing the designer)

'This night is special not only because we celebrate the best of American fashion, but because we come together as an industry and a community to do so. This year's group of nominees, honorees, and winners represent the continuity and evolution of fashion in this country. We are in a phase of unprecedented influence by both established houses and relative newcomers, and can I think of no better advertisement for American fashion as a dynamic, growing institution with a rich history than the CFDA Fashion Awards,' noted CFDA Executive Director Steven Kolb.

Dita Von Teese with nominees, sisters Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte

In its effort to recognize the outstanding contributions made to American fashion by individuals from all areas of the industry and related arts, the CFDA hosts its annual awards presentation. Awards are given for design excellence in womenswear, menswear, and accessories, and special awards are given for journalism, creative vision, and lifetime achievement. Some of the most coveted CFDA Awards given are the Swarovski's Perry Ellis Awards for womenswear, menswear, and accessory design, which were established in 1986 to honor emerging talent. The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. is a not-for-profit trade association of 273 of America's foremost fashion and accessory designers. Founded in 1962, the CFDA continues to raise its artistic and professional standards, to define a code of ethical practices of mutual benefit in public and trade relations, and to promote appreciation of the fashion arts through leadership in quality and aesthetic discernment.

For more information, please visit www.cfda.com





Top of Page

Join Splash Magazines

Feature Article

Tempflow™ and Tempur-Pedic® Reviews - What 35 Hours of Research Uncovered

Want Your Business to Male a Splash
<!-- #wrapper -->