Jason Alexander hosts Academy of Magical Arts Awards Show April 7th at the Orpheum Theatre - Recognizing the Best of the Art & Celebrating 50 Magical Years in 2013

Celebration to Include AMA Board President Neil Patrick Harris Penn & Teller to be Honored as ‘Magicians of the Year’

HOLLYWOOD — April 6, 2013 — For Immediate Release — As it continues a year-long celebration of its 50th anniversary in 2013, the Academy of Magical Arts (AMA) will hold its 45th annual AMA Awards Show, April 7.

The award show, hosted by Jason Alexander (Seinfeld) – himself a performing magician – will honor Penn & Teller (who will receive a Hollywood Star on the Walk of Fame April 5) as Magicians of the Year.  Other noted magicians will be honored in a variety of award categories (listed below) with a “Magic Wand Award.”

The AMA, a unique, non-profit social order located in the heart of historic Hollywood, is the premier organization dedicated to the art of magic. Its clubhouse, the Magic Castle, is one of the most extraordinary private clubs in the world. The AMA’s membership includes performing magicians and illusionist of all levels – including entertainment’s most pre-eminent, world-renowned artists – as well as associate members who simply love the art and the establishment.

Commented Emmy Award-winning actor Neil Patrick Harris, president of the AMA board of directors, “While you often hear the media speak about a ‘magical night in Hollywood,’ the Academy of Magical Arts awards gala is literally and truly a magical night.”

WHAT:          AMA Magic Awards, Hosted by Jason Alexander
WHO:             Special Honorees, Celebrity Guests, Performing Magicians
WHEN:          Sunday, April 7 — Red Carpet Arrival, 6 p.m. / Show Begins, 7 p.m. / After Party to follow
WHERE:       Orpheum Theatre, 842 S. Broadway, Downtown Los Angeles (Between 8th & 9th Streets)

About the Academy of Magical Arts, Inc.
Celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2013, the Academy of Magical Arts (AMA) is a unique non-profit. The AMA’s membership – including the world’s most pre-eminent and celebrated magicians and illusionists – live by the “Magic First” creed, devoted to the advancement of the art of magic and preserving its history.  Its headquarters and private clubhouse, the Magic Castle, has been an internationally revered gathering place for the magic brotherhood since opening its doors in 1963.  Located in historic Hollywood in an elegant, Victorian-era mansion, the Castle is an experience within itself—a remarkable meeting spot that captures a lost era and is timeless in its appeal, having hosted generations of magic enthusiasts from around the globe, as well as show biz elite from Cary Grant, Tony Curtis and Johnny Carson (all performing members) to Katy Perry and Johnny Depp. Leading the AMA as president of the Board of Directors is Emmy Award-winning actor Neil Patrick Harris. The Magic Castle was founded by writer, actor, magician and entrepreneur Milt Larsen and his late brother, Bill Larsen, Jr.  Visit us online at: www.MagicCastle.com

2013 AMA Award Winners/Nominees

Magician of the Year Winners
Penn & Teller

Lecturer of the Year Nominees
Harry Anderson
Rafael Benatar
John Carney
Joe Monti
Shoot Ogawa

Close-Up Magician of the Year Nominees
Derek DelGaudio
Andrew Goldenhersh
Bill Goodwin
Armando Lucero
David Regal

Parlour Magician of the Year Nominees
Chris Capehart
Michael Carbonaro
Helder Guimaraes
Derek Hughes
Phil Van Tee

Stage Magician  of the Year Nominees
Mike Caveney
Whit “Pop” Haydn
Chipper Lowell
Shoot Ogawa
Rob Zabrecky
AMA Fellowship Awards will be presented to …

Fellowship recipients receive a framed proclamation from the AMA and a hand-crafted pin, courtesy of West McDonough in memory of her grandfather, Thomas Glover, Sr., who entrusted Milt and Bill Larsen with the property that now houses the Magic Castle.

Juan Tamariz — Masters Fellowship
This is the highest Fellowship Award granted by the AMA. The recipient is selected by the Board of Trustees, whose combined knowledge of the art and history of magic provides the platform for selection. Renowned magician Dai Vernon was presented with the first Masters Fellowship in 1968. Other recipients include Cardini and Slydini.

Alan Shaxon —  Lifetime Achievement Fellowship
Created in 1985, this fellowship is given to a person whose entire life had been dedicated to magic, either as a performer, a preservationist or a historian. Magic Castle co-founder William W. Larsen, Jr. received the first presentation, followed by Don Lawton, co-founder Milt Larsen, Francis Marshall and others.

David Williamson  — Performing Fellowship
Recipients of this fellowship are performers – or a team of performers –  who have made an impact on the art of magic. Cardini received the first award in 1968, followed by such performers as Frackson, Richiardi and Marvyn & Carol Roy.

Paul Kieve  — Creative Fellowship
Presented to people who have made significant innovations and/or whose creativity in magic is beyond that of their peers. The first award was presented to Ed Marlo in 1968. Others include Robert Harbin, Alan Wakeling and John Gaughan.

David Charvet — Literary Fellowship
Presented to those whose body of magical literary work is both large and important to the art. The first recipient of this fellowship was Lewis Ganson in 1968. Other recipients include contemporary authors Mike Caveney and Jim Steinmeyer.

Carl Williams  — Special Fellowship  (Prop Building)
Luis de Matos, David Britland & Marco Tempest  —  Special Fellowship (Producing 2012 EMC Conference)
A special fellowship is presented to those whose contributions do not fit into the annual fellowship categories, but whose contributions to the art of magic cannot be overlooked. Carl Owen received the first such fellowship in 1968. Other recipients include Ed Sullivan, Dr. Robert Albo and Irene Larsen.

Top of Page

Join Splash Magazines

Feature Article

Tempflow™ and Tempur-Pedic® Reviews - What 35 Hours of Research Uncovered

Want Your Business to Male a Splash
<!-- #wrapper -->