SXSW 2017 Winners Film Awards - Top: Narrative 'Most Beautiful Island' & Documentary 'The Work'


The prestigious SXSW 2017 announced on Tuesday, March 14th the Jury and Special Award winners of the SXSW Film Awards Presented by FilmStruck. FilmStruck is a new streaming service for serious film fans that offers a comprehensive library which includes indie, contemporary and classic arthouse, foreign, and cult films. It is also the exclusive streaming home of The Criterion Collection. The evening was hosted by Saturday Night Live’s Sasheer Zamata at the well-known Paramount Theatre in Austin, Texas.

 Ana Asensio's 'Most Beautiful Island' took the Grand Jury Narrative Feature prize and Jairus McLeary & Gethin Aldous' 'The Work' took the prize for the Documentary feature. All Audience Awards will be announced separately on Saturday, March 18th, along with the VR/AR Virtual Cinema award winners.



Over the course of nine days, the 2017 SXSW Film Festival will screen 130 features, consisting of 84 world premieres, 14 North American premieres, and five U.S. premieres, with 54 first-time filmmakers. One hundred twenty-eight shorts will screen as part of 12 curated shorts programs. The 256 films were selected from 7,651 overall submissions, consisting of approximately 2,432 features and 4,975 shorts.

SXSW also announced on Tuesday the Jury Award Winners in Shorts Filmmaking and in addition the winners of the SXSW Film Design Awards. SXSW also holds “Special Awards” such as the Louis Black “Lone Star” Award and Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship, including also new categories with the SXSW Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award alongside the SXSW LUNA Gamechanger Award - Narrative and SXSW LUNA Chicken & Egg Award Documentary, which include a $15,000 artist award and mentoring to help support female filmmakers hone their craft in the fiction and documentary categories.

The 2017 SXSW Film Festival Awards:

Feature Film Grand Jury Awards

Narrative Feature Competition

Winner:'Most Beautiful Island'

Director: Ana Asensio



Special Jury Recognition for Breakthrough Performance: 'The Strange Ones'

Actor: James Freedson-Jackson



Special Jury Recognition for Best Ensemble: 'A Bad Idea Gone Wrong'

Cast: Matt Jones, Eleanore Pienta, Will Rogers, Jonny Mars, Sam Eidson, Jennymarie Jemison



Documentary Feature Competition

Winner: 'The Work'

Directors: Jairus McLeary and Gethin Aldous




Special Jury Recognition for Excellence in Observational Cinema: 'Mainland'

Director: Miao Wang



Special Jury Recognition for Excellence in Documentary Storytelling: 'I Am Another You'

Director: Nanfu Wang



Short Film Grand Jury Awards

Presented by OneFifty, early investors in original content from Time Warner Inc., home to HBO, Turner and Warner Bros.

Narrative Shorts

Winner: 'Forever Now'

Director: Kristian Håskjold

Special Jury Recognition for Acting: 'DeKalb Elementary'

Actor: Tarra Riggs

Documentary Shorts

Winner: Little Potato

Director: Wes Hurley & Nathan M. Miller


Midnight Shorts

Winner:'The Suplex Duplex Complex'

Director: Todd Rohal

Animated Shorts

Winner: 'Wednesday with Goddard'

Directors: Nicolas Menard


Special Jury Recognition: 'Pussy'

Director: Renata Gasiorowska

Music Videos

Winner: Leon Bridges - 'RIVER'

Director: Miles Jay

Special Jury Recognition: Tame Impala - 'The Less I Know The Better'

Director: CANADA

Texas Shorts

Winner: 'The Rabbit Hunt'

Director: Patrick Bresnan

Texas High School Shorts

Winner: 'Better Late Than Never'

Director: Atheena Frizzell


Special Jury Recognition: 'Darcy’s Quinceañera'

Director: Sam Cooper

SXSW Film Design Awards

Excellence in Poster Design

Winner: Fry Day

Designer: Caspar Newbolt

 Special Jury Recognition: 'Like Me'

Designer: Jeremy Enecio

 Excellence in Title Design

Winner: 'Into The Current'

Directors: Chris R. Moberg and Jared Young

 SXSW Special Awards

SXSW LUNA Gamechanger Award - Narrative

SXSW LUNAChicken & Egg Award - Documentary

LUNA, creators of the first nutrition bar for women, has championed female filmmakers for more than 16 years. In collaboration with Gamechanger Films and Chicken & Egg Pictures, LUNA is honored to offer two $15,000 artist awards and mentoring to help support female filmmakers hone their craft in the fiction and documentary categories, seek new and exciting opportunities, and navigate the changing media landscape. (Opt-in Award)

SXSW LUNA Gamechanger Award - Narrative

Winner: 'INFLAME'

Director: Ceylan Ozgun Ozcelik

SXSW LUNA 'Chicken & Egg Award' - Documentary

Winner: 'I Am Another You'

Director: Nanfu Wang

SXSW Louis Black “Lone Star” Award

To honor SXSW co-founder/director Louis Black, a jury prize was created in 2011 called the Louis Black “Lone Star” Award, to be awarded to a Texas film in content, filmmaker residency, or primary shooting location. (Opt-in Award)

Louis Black “Lone Star” Award

Winner: 'Mr. Roosevelt'

Director: Noël Wells

SXSW Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award

In honor of a filmmaker whose work strives to be wholly its own, without regard for norms or desire to conform. The Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award is presented to a filmmaker from our Visions screening category.

SXSW Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award

Presented to: Assholes directed by Peter Vack

SXSW Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship Presentation

The Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship is a year-long experience that encourages and champions the talent of an emerging documentary editor. Awarded annually, the fellowship was created to honor the memory of gifted editor Karen Schmeer.

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship

Presented to: Leigh Johnson

SXSW 2017 is sponsored by Esurance, Mazda, Monster Energy, Bud Light,Capital One, McDonald’s, and The Austin Chronicle.


Follow LA Splash Magazine Twitter @SplashMagWW  Instagram @Splashmags

Follow Yenis Monterrey (Writer)Twitter @Foxactress

#SXSW Follow SXSW @sxsw

Top of Page
Join Splash Magazines

Feature Article

Tempflow™ and Tempur-Pedic® Reviews - What 35 Hours of Research Uncovered

Want Your Business to Male a Splash
<!-- #wrapper -->