2017 Texas Film Awards-Press Conference

Janet Pierson, the head of SXSW, opened the 2017 Texas Film Awards press conference onThursday, March 9, 2017 and she expressed her deep excitement of being part of the Texas Film Awards yearly kick-off event.  She was very thrilled to support the Texas Film Awards 2017 at the Austin Film Society and most of all Richard Linklater, whom she acclaimed as an inspirational leader for his work and dedication to the creation of the AFS.

Rebecca Campbell, the society’s executive director, emphasized how the AFS has been involved with programs and services for the next generations of filmmakers to create a future for the Austin community and also support film production through Austin Studios.  She told the crowd that last year Richard Linklater announced at the stage of the Texas Film Awards that the AFS was going to become a full-time cinema.

Austin Film Society Cinema

Austin Film Society, helmed by founder and director Richard Linklater, is getting a brand new home in Austin's Highland neighborhood.  The Austin Film Society Cinema will have a very comfortable lobby where people can come before and after with an exclusive beverage program created by consulting chef Jorge Hernandez.  The unique venue features a 278-seat movie theater outfitted with Dolby sound and a 35mm changeover system in addition to a large, open hall space for galas, parties, weddings and performances.   The guests will be able to order their food and drink at the counter, where they can either bring everything into screenings or choose to eat in the lobby.  The art cinema theater will feature two screens and an event hall.  The Austin Film Society Cinema is designed by Design traits and Michael Hsu Office of Architecture.  The redesigned space will have a variety of distinctive gathering areas, including an entry vestibule, bar, and lounge, offering guests pleasing settings in which to assemble before and after films.  The kinetic space will be simple yet dynamic, mixing features, elements, and colors to welcome guests into a comfortable atmosphere with a distinctively “Austin-vibe and trendy and true film culture."

Each year, the Texas Film Awards brings together legends of cinema from Texas from the big screen to television for an evening of festivities inducting industry icons into the Texas Film Hall of Fame. The event features alluring red carpet arrivals of the evening's honorees, presenters, and other special guests, followed by a spectacular catered awards ceremony, music, and a lively auction. The Texas Film Awards serves as the primary fundraiser for the AFS's year round programs that enhance the cultural landscape of our city and state.

This year's honorees included Shirley MacLaine, Jeff Nichols, Sarah Green, Tye Sheridan & Hector Galan.

The Texas Film Awards honors a distinguished group of Texans whose work and contributions have placed Texas on the world stage of film excellence. Honorees include Shirley MacLaine, Jeff Nichols, Hector Galan, Sarah Green, and Tye Sheridan.

Follow LA Splash Magazine Twitter @SplashMagWW Instagram @Splashmags

Follow Yenis Monterrey (Writer) Twitter @Foxactress

Follow Austin Film Society @austinfilm on Twitter and Instagram



Top of Page

Join Splash Magazines

Feature Article

Tempflow™ and Tempur-Pedic® Reviews - What 35 Hours of Research Uncovered

Want Your Business to Male a Splash
<!-- #wrapper -->