The Caucus Awards - Serving Television Artists for 37 Years

The Caucus Awards: Fred Willard and Ron Friedman

The beautiful Beverly Hills Hotel was the scene of the 28th annual black tie gala Caucus awards. 230 members of the entertainment community – mostly active producers, writers and directors joined in celebrating.  Lee Miller, co- executive producer for the event welcomed the host of the evening, the funny Fred Willard.  

The Caucus Awards: Fries, Liebergott and DiBona

Foundation president, Chuck Fries, and also the event chair, announced the 10th anniversary of the Caucus Foundation which has provided student filmmakers with one million dollars in grants, in kind services, cash and production packages aimed at completing their films.  Norman Powell presented the Gold Circle Award for the outstanding student film to Kyle Fischer’s film Thule.  Second place went to Ka ‘ramuu Kush for Salvation Road...  

The Caucus Awards: Cates and Rush

Gary Grossman, an alum of Emerson College and alum producer Vin Di Bona presented Jacqueline Liebergott, the president of Emerson, with the Special Educator Award.  Emerson has recently started an internship program at the Sunset Gower studios and has been a huge supporter to the Caucus over the years.  Shortly after that, Vin Di Bona, himself, was presented the award for Independent Producer of the Year by WME agent Mark Itkin and executive producer Suzanne de Passe received the nod with the Chair’s Award, while writer/producer Bill Blinn obtained the Lifetime Achievement Award.  Dennis Doty, the Caucus president, himself, gave out the award.  The Journalism Award went to founder of, Sharon Waxman, while executive producer Herman Rush received the Distinguished Service Award.  

The Caucus Awards: Greg Berlanti

There was excitement in the crowd as the names for the writer nominees were called.  Greg Berlanti –“Brothers and Sisters” came up to accept the award. Mr. Willard continued to entertain us with jokes as the names were called for the producer award.  Nigel Lythgoe of “So You Can Dance” and “American Idol” came up to the stage.  They have done much in England, and now have come to the colonies to entertain us even more.  Director of the Year was Jack Bender who never got “Lost.”

The Caucus Awards: Waxman and Koones

Awarding the statues was model/actress Greer Grammer.  The show was written by Ron Friedman.  Photography for the event was done by Steven Cohn Photography. 

The Caucus Awards: Lythgoe and Hough

Sponsors of the evening included Emerson College, Joan & Herman Rush Family,  ABC/Disney,  CAA,  Hewlett Packard, The Hollywood Reporter, J.J. Abrams, Greg Berlanti, Ava & Chuck Fries, Erica Gerard Di Bona, BO, Alan Landsburg, Sheri & Howard Schultz, Jeanne & Herb Siegel, United Talent Agency, Directors Guild of America, Dizzy Feet Foundation, Jane & Michael Eisner, FOX Networks Group, and 20th Century Fox Television, Fremantle Media North America, NBC Universal, Felisa Vanoff, Warner Bros Television, and WmE2.

The Caucus Awards: Troy DeVolld and Chuck Fries

The Caucus for Producers, Writers and Directors, which has been active for 37 years,  is an alliance of television and new media content creators.  It’s mission is to restore program ownership to creators so that  development, production and distribution is retained by the independent community.  They are active in protecting a neutral and open internet.  As communicators, they strive to deal with issues facing the entertainment and new media communities while promoting open dialogue among professional creatives and raising awareness of diversity, women and minorities in the industry. 

for more information go to

Top of Page
Join Splash Magazines

Feature Article

Tempflow™ and Tempur-Pedic® Reviews - What 35 Hours of Research Uncovered

Want Your Business to Male a Splash
<!-- #wrapper -->