NAACP - A Salute to Black Theatre

Decked out in it’s award giving finest, the Directors Guild of America, on Monday night, August 30th, 2010, welcomed the 20th annual NAACP Theatre Awards.  The Theatre Awards program honors writers, directors, actors, producers and many technical categories from the prior year who contribute to Black culture and the arts.  

After the lovely VIP reception, the dance troupe performed " Sarafina" and Ron Hasson, President of the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch, welcomed everyone as did Willis Edwards, the first VP, and Tia Boyd, the Executive Producer.

NAACP - Brian White and Richard Gant - Men of a Certain Age

Hosts, Lisaraye McCoy (The Real McCoy) and Mekhi Phifer (ER), were assisted by various well known entertainer presenters as Quinton Aaron, Tatyana Ali, James Avery, Hosea Chanchz, Orlando Brown, Denise Boutte, Anthony Chisholm, Monique Coleman, Kim Coles, Lamyia Good, Megan Good, Omar Gooding, Louis Gossett, Jr, Lance Gross, Kevin Hart, Darrin Dewitt Henson, Anna Maria Horsford, Marques Houston, Claudia Jordon, Hakeem Kae-Kazim, Kenny Lattimore, Judge MaBleen, Nia Long, Sharon Leal, Tamera Mowry, Miquel Nuez, Judy Pace, Wendy Raquel Robinson, Kelly Price, Julia Price, Corey Reynolds, Leon Robinson, Khleo Thomas, Kykelti Williamson, Brian White, Beverly Todd and Camille Winbush.  Many of these were interviewed back stage by actor, Richard Gant from Men of a Certain Age. 

NAACP-- Richard Gant, Ron Reid and wife of Isgenix

Ron Reid of Isagenix was presented with the Humanitarian award for helping the people of Hatti,and  Obba Babatunde presented "Mr. Bojangles" from his performance as Sammy Davis, Jr.  During the night, Quadiru Kent of Walmart also received the president's award  and Wren Brown, the 2010 Community Service award while Jeffrey Wright was given the 2010 Lifetime Achievement. 

NAACP - Quadiru Kent or Walmart

Winners included Best Director –Equity, Robert O Hara; Best Director –Local, Shirley Jo Finney; Best Ensemble Cast – Equity, Crowns; Best Ensemble Cast – Local, Stick Fly; Best Lead Female- Equity, Nikki Crawford, Best Lead Female – local, Deidere Henry; Best Lead Male – Equity, Obba Babatubde; Best Lead Male – Local, Levar Burton; Best One Person Show, Aaron Braxton; Best Playright- Equity, Danai Gurira; Best Playright – Local, Paul Leaf; Best Producer – Equity – The Old Globe; Best Producer- Local, Robey Theatre Company and Ben Guillory; Best Supporting Female –Equity, Erica Ash; Best Supporting Female – Local, Shonni Albritton; Best Supporting Male- Equity, Marc Ewing and Best Supporting Male – Local – Sammie Wayne.  

NAACP - Tamera Mowry - Strong Medicine/ Roommates

Technical awards went to Best Choreography –Equity, Brigitte Mutrux; Best Choreography- Local, Cassie Crump and Alfred Jackson; Best Costumes – Equity, Randy Barcelo; Best Costumes – Local – Maisie Klompus; Best Director of a Musical – Equity, Francesca Zambello; Best Director of a Musical – Local, Carla Dupree Clark; Best Lightning – Equity, Mark McCullough; Best Lightning – Local – Luke Moyer; Best Music Director – Equity, Ian Fraser; Best Music Director – Local, Barbara Morrison; Best Set Design – Equity, Sibyl Wickersheimer; Best Set Director- Local, Brian Sidney Bembridge; Best Sound-Equity, Martin Carrillo; Best Sound- Local, Lloyd Reese.

NAACP _ Lou Gossett Jr.

Sponsors included 20th Century Fox, Verizon, DGA, Walmart, Wells Fargo, Southwestern Airlines, Circo, Nuvo, U S Bank, Rent A Center, KJLJ, Isagenix.  PR was done by Avid Exposure. 

NAACP - Quinton Aaron - The Blind Side

For more information about the NAACP or about next year's theatre awards, contact or call 410 580 5777


Top of Page
Join Splash Magazines

Feature Article

Tempflow™ and Tempur-Pedic® Reviews - What 35 Hours of Research Uncovered

Want Your Business to Male a Splash
<!-- #wrapper -->