Texas Film Awards 2014

The Austin Film Society will be celebrating the 14th Annual Texas Awards.  This memorable gala will take place at Austin Studios on Thursday,  March 6th and the proceeds will benefit  Austin Film Society grants and educational programs. The event will be just one night before SXSW. The tickets for the awards gala start at $500 to $2,500 for single guests and run from $5,000 to $25,000 for tables. 

There will be also an affordable after party later that night at the gala. If you are planning to attend the gala, tables and tickets include a VIP reception with celebrities guest red carpet arrivals, a gala dinner with a spirited live auction and Lady Luck Lottery, and an exceptional awards ceremony with live music. After the awards ceremony guests can attend the after party with access to VIP areas which include a buffet style dinner in a private lounge during the gala, live video stream of the Texas Film Awards Ceremony, and access to the VIP lounge at the Texas Party to mix and mingle with VIP gala guests.

 The 2014 host committee will have interesting personalities in the spotlight such as Richard Linklater who was nominated for the 2014 Oscar in the category of adapted screenplay for the 2013 film, Before Midnight.” 

The Texas Film Awards nominees have been announced and the list is very compelling without a doubt.  The list includes the Austinite Amber Heard, who recently starred in “Machete Kills and “All the Boys Love Mandy Lane.” She was recently engaged to Johnny Depp and rumored of planning their wedding at Depp’s Bahamas private island, according with the UK’s Daily Star, and will be honored with the Rising Star Award at the Gala.


The annual Star of Texas Award goes every year to a classical or important Texas film.  This year the award will be accepted by the director Robert Rodriguez for the film “From Dusk Till Dawn.” which starred George Clooney, Quentin Tarantino, Harvey Keitel, and Salma Hayek. Rodriguez's El Rey network plans to debut a "From Dusk till Dawn" TV series in March.

The Actor and Dallas native Luke Wilson will be the Master of Ceremonies, known for his work in all Wes Anderson’s and The Skeleton Twins”(2013), showed at the Sundance Film Festival 2014.

Representing “the next generation of American creative filmmakers,” and award-winning , Dallas native and current Austinite David Gordon Green  director of  “Joe” (2013) starring by Nicolas Cage, Pineapple Express (2008), George Washington (2000) will be honored and is set to be inducted by Danny McBride, co-creator and star of “Eastbound & Down(2009-2012), on which Green collaborated.

The Sound Track Award will be picking up by Mac Davis Country music singer-songwriter and Lubbock native. Davis penned such hits as “In the Ghetto” and the cultural staple “A Little Less Conversation” for Elvis Presley and had a strong solo career of his own. Presley’s ex-wife Priscilla Presley will attend to present Davis with his award.

 Louis Black, who founded the Austin Chronicle and SXSW Film Festival, will earn the Lifetime Achievement award.

 In addition, the gala will have the remarkable presence this year of representatives from William Morris Endeavor , also known as WME, as ones of the VIP table buyers. WME is one of the largest talent and literary agencies in the entertainment industry.



Holly Herrick, artistic director for the Austin Film Society said “ This is a very exciting time of year for us” “Texas has made major contribution to film and television through the talent that have grown up here and made films here”

If you can't afford the AWARDS you can always attend general after party $50 or VIP after party $150. It will be a lot of fun!

Certainly, the Texas Film Award 2014 is going to be an unforgettable occasion , showcasing the immense talent of  Texas in the entertainment industry. Get ready for an evening with celebrities and shine like a star!

Top of Page

Join Splash Magazines

Feature Article

Tempflow™ and Tempur-Pedic® Reviews - What 35 Hours of Research Uncovered

Want Your Business to Male a Splash
<!-- #wrapper -->